top of page

what is?

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a genetically linked, auto-immune disease that affects the small intestine. It is triggered by eating food that contains a protein called “gluten.” Gluten is commonly found in wheat, rye, and barley, and triticale. At one time, oats were also eliminated but as long as they are labeled “uncontaminated” oats, they should be fine. Left undiagnosed, celiac disease can lead to vitamin deficient-related health issues, such as anemia and osteoporosis.


The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Act of 2004 mandates the eight major food groups that account for 90% of food allergies must be evident on a food label. This includes: milk, eggs, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. But just because a label says it is “wheat free,” does not mean the food is “gluten free.” It can contain other allergens that are not so easy to spot on a food label. Dining out in a restaurant can be especially challenging as there are no labels to rely on.

Meet with a registered dietitian for education on a gluten free diet as the diet is the only treatment for celiac disease. 

bottom of page